I’d rather care too much, than not at all.

And that doesn’t make me perfect – it just makes me a softy, or as my slightly harder-nosed friends might say – a mug. The truth is though, that whilst deep deep down I know it makes me a mug, to sound cliche, I would have rather loved and lost than to never have done so at all.

For me, expressing my love and care for the people I love (friends, family, lover) is as natural as going to sleep at night, although I appreciate for some it is not.

Remember “show and tell” at school – you would bring something, maybe a rabbit, or a really cool piece of your dad’s electronic equipment in to class & you’d have to explain to your class mates what IT was and what IT did.. the purpose of the “tell” was to inform the children who had no idea just by looking at the item you had bought to share… I kind of apply to this to life and to feelings; sometimes you just need to vocalise what’s going on because the assumption that people know how you feel about them is the biggest killer of a relationship, in any capacity.

Telling is important, yeah, but so are the actions that work in affiliation with those words.

If you love someone, show them.
If you like someone, show them.
If someone is your best friend, show them.
If you want a promotion at work, show your boss.
If you want someone to be a part of your life, fucking show them.

Action speak louder than words.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I cannot agree w/ the statement on your About page that you, as a “common man”, are nothing special. Common men migrated to every corner of the globe. Common men built the pyramids, and survived the plagues. Common men die in the wars, and rebuild the world again afterwards. Listen to Aaron Copeland’s Fanfare for the Common Man sometime. You can find one version at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NjssV8UuVA.

    The Bible tells us that we are to love God and our neighbor. If you have accomplished that, you have fulfilled the two greatest commandments. No small feat. Thank you, by the way, for your follow. Best Wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful and inspiring post.👌👌👌👌👌

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always been one to care too much. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice one, I love it! Thank you for following my blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment